Homesick AF

Being an out of state college student never gets easier.

Reminiscing on the food the islands offer, the ability to drive to the beach whenever you please, or having your family with you.Being from the islands, it allows me to constantly put into perspective why I’m here and who I’m doing this for. The islands are small and you run into old friends or classmates often. Being able to go out of state and meet new people to challenge my ideas or share my opinions with is different compared to the islands closed off mindset. I don’t regret ever going away to pursue a higher education and am always grateful to my parents for sacrificing so much in order for me to be happy. Being the first born of my family, I have an unspoken duty to be the role model they deserve and to never lose focus on why I am here.  I look back at all the photos I’ve taken in the past when I was home and remember the memories behind each one.

Leave a comment